⏱️ 3 minute read
With the improved Clients & Contacts experience in Forecast, how guest user access is given is different.
When creating a client contact, you can choose whether to give them guest user access, giving you full flexibility over who gets access.
This article walks through how to grant client contacts guest user access.
Jump to...
- Granting Guest User Access
- What Can Guest Users Do?
- Modifying Default Guest User Permissions
- Guest User Onboarding
- Removing Guest User Access
- Where to go next
Granting Guest User Access
Once a client contact is created, you have the option to give them guest user access. You can do this when creating the contact, or edit their access later if you decide against it initially.
Once you enable access, you'll be asked to select which projects they should have access to. Guest users do not incur a seat cost in your subscription.
Guest User Access:
Project Access:
Note: The project list only includes projects assigned to the Client profile you're working in.
What Can Guest Users Do?
When you give a client contact guest user access, they receive the default guest user permissions, which include:
- Add new tasks
- Add or edit estimates
- Add or remove task assignees
- Assign or edit a task's role
- Adjust task start and end dates
- Create calendar meetings
- Add comments and tag people
- Flag tasks as high priority, bugs, or blocked
- Add labels to tasks
- Add subtasks
- Attach files to tasks
- Delete tasks
Modifying Default Guest User Permissions
You can modify the default guest user permissions from the main Clients section, under Client Permissions.
These permissions apply globally, meaning any changes you make will apply to all guest users across every client profile in your Forecast account.
To access Client Permissions:
- Click Clients in the navigation ribbon.
- In the top right corner, navigate to Client Permissions.
To edit Client Permissions:
- From Clients, click Client Permissions.
- To allow guest users to see all tasks within their assigned projects, tick the box for Show all tasks in assigned projects.
- To limit visibility over task details, tick the boxes for Hide time entries, Hide estimates, or Hide assignee and role.
- Use Limit guest user actions to restrict guest users to creating tasks, editing task names or descriptions, adding comments, and attaching files.
Note: It's not possible to set individual permissions for specific client contacts who are guest users. Selections made in Client Permissions apply to all guest users across every client profile in your Forecast account.
Guest User Onboarding
Once a client contact is given guest user access, they receive an email with the subject line "Welcome to Forecast." This email walks them through completing their account setup.
For more information on how Guest Users complete their account setup, see Setting up your Profile: Instructions for Guest Users.
Removing Guest User Access
To remove guest user access from a client contact:
- Click Clients in the navigation ribbon.
- Select the desired client from the overview.
- Select the contact you want to remove guest user access from.
- Click Edit from the three-dot menu.
- From within the contact's profile, toggle off the Guest User option.
- Once disabled, guest user access is removed for that client contact.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.